http://zuckonitkinkeme.livejournal.com/ (
zuckonitkinkeme.livejournal.com) wrote in
tsn_kinkmeme2011-02-10 08:28 am
Entry tags:
{mod post} how far?
i didn't want to make this decision based on my own personal preferences so i offer you a poll!
please try and spread the word about this because i think it needs to be seen. i'm aware i should have done this at the beginning but i just need to know how the majority of you feel.
i assume by now everyone is aware that the movie is based on real people. however, there have been a couple of prompts that bring real people in connection with mark, eduardo etc. who weren't in the movie and therefore, we have no 'characterisation' for. how comfortable are you guys with having them included in prompts?
(people like priscilla chan and real life!chris hughes for example)
there have been a couple of prompts where mark and eduardo go and see the movie - and the 'actors' end up still being andrew and jesse. that's a fine line because it could imply the mark and eduardo in the fic are then the real life mark and eduardo.
please note; this is NOT about RPF. these people are not the cast/crew - they are just people who happen to know the real life people this movie is modelling itself alongside.
[Poll #1679624]
please try and spread the word about this because i think it needs to be seen. i'm aware i should have done this at the beginning but i just need to know how the majority of you feel.
i assume by now everyone is aware that the movie is based on real people. however, there have been a couple of prompts that bring real people in connection with mark, eduardo etc. who weren't in the movie and therefore, we have no 'characterisation' for. how comfortable are you guys with having them included in prompts?
(people like priscilla chan and real life!chris hughes for example)
there have been a couple of prompts where mark and eduardo go and see the movie - and the 'actors' end up still being andrew and jesse. that's a fine line because it could imply the mark and eduardo in the fic are then the real life mark and eduardo.
please note; this is NOT about RPF. these people are not the cast/crew - they are just people who happen to know the real life people this movie is modelling itself alongside.
[Poll #1679624]

no subject
as long as no one's planning on facebooking this site to mark, chris, etc., i think it's fine
no subject
(Anonymous) 2011-02-10 09:14 am (UTC)(link)IMHO i think it should be limited to the people who we saw on screen otherwise this becomes less a meme the movie and more a meme for the RL people they were trying to portray in said movie, surely?
no subject
(Anonymous) 2011-02-10 01:57 pm (UTC)(link)no subject
no subject
First, I have written Priscilla maybe once or twice so I'm definitely biased. /possible conflict of interest
Having moved from lurker in bandom to TSN, I think everyone (with due respect) is fair game. In bandom, often kids of celebrities are mentioned and/or wives and/or sisters not necessarily in the spotlight but are famous by association. In effect, for writers this means a bit of a blank slate and you can create an 'original' character out of the less well known person. (There is admittedly also the risk of random character demonizing to get the more well known characters to ship together, which is why in some fandoms you get the evil gfs so the guys can have great gay sex...however I think it would be really sad to blanket ban since there is the possibility of great stories there too.)
Of course, I can get that people might be uncomfortable about it. Or they don't really care about real!Mark and real!Eduardo - it's a great movie. Personally I find the meta gap a fun thing to play with just like Aaron thought the Facebook story would make a great story. But each to their own and I mean absolutely no disrespect for those who want to stick to the movie. Different strokes xD
I would prefer it if everything can be prompted. Since the story is in effect ongoing. For example, Eduardo's new investment in Qwiki. I used that as a scenario in which Mark could stand up to Eduardo's father. Fine line there I admit but fun because of the idea of "It could be"? Or even mentioning previous media appearances - drawing on more than just TSN for a longer story feels rather satisfying. It is the random things you see (like the porn video prompt) which you then think ding man that would be great for the kink meme, which makes the kink meme a fun place to go to.
My greatest concern is really I'd hate for this to split the fandom because it's been really awesome. It's not a matter of where people like uh me I guess would go because fair enough you can always take it to your own LJ. I made a meta post recently (about an article I read about Mark's dad on raising Mark) that I realized I couldn't post to
I'll shut up now because I'm probably not making much sense.
TLDR: Whatever the outcome, I will follow because it's a community decision. Great idea for a poll and muchos respect to mod for putting this out there.
no subject
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
no subject
this decision was never going to be clean cut, i think, because of the people involved and the subject matter. that said, i thought a poll was a good decision maker.
i think the only stipulation i will put my name to is in relation to prompts asking for stuff about facebook; putting things out there that will attract attention. i think that is one thing i would say should be prevented where possible - both for their sake and for ours.
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
no subject
(Possibly unrelated? I think people have been doing some interesting meta things in this fandom, which I'm in no way opposed to as long as it's understood to be meta on purpose.)
no subject
(Anonymous) 2011-02-10 01:59 pm (UTC)(link)no subject
(Anonymous) 2011-02-11 02:33 am (UTC)(link)+1
(Anonymous) 2011-02-11 04:08 am (UTC)(link)(no subject)
(Anonymous) - 2011-03-08 07:48 (UTC) - Expandno subject
Also, real life Chris Hughs is, in fact, a public figure, as is his boyfriend.
And, to be honest, I think the real problems are if/when people post fic other places, other than LJ -- places where these internet savvy folks we write about might find it. We, in fandom, need our fourth wall.
no subject
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
no subject
But anyways, I personally think the real!Chris Hughes is really, really cute, so I don't mind at all.
no subject
I think we all know the movie took a couple of liberties in telling the story, so I doubt that there's gonna be Mark/Eduardo (real life version) here. And even if there is - it's still no different than Andrew/Jesse. Or Mark/Jesse.
no subject
no subject
It is extremely confusing to know where to draw the boundaries, quite honestly. I think as long as everyone continues to be respectful it should be okay to draw on RL/canon/fanon/imagination equally. Like with all stuff, if you don't like it, don't read it. And don't link it, anywhere.
I did think this article was really pretty interesting:
http://symposium.transformativeworks.org/2011/01/the-social-network-fandom-rps-of-professional-rpf/
My two cents. You are all so ace!
no subject
(no subject)
(no subject)
no subject
(Anonymous) 2011-02-10 10:06 pm (UTC)(link)It's perhaps really weird and intrusive and privacy-invasive and the meta-joke just writes itself. Of all the people in the world the person I feel the least amount of pity towards his loss of a privacy is the man who said it is a relic of times gone by.
God, this guy is selling out the private info of all my family and me to some shady corporations and I am supposed to feel bad for writing smutty fic about him that occasionally mention his family? I mean I do but it's the easiest I've ever been able to not feel guilty about it. Hey, maybe it's even a form of non-violent protest against corporate bullshit. I am super at rationalizing this given enough time.
So this is totally a vote to keep it all. It's a vote because it's showing the man, because it's just desserts, because I'm am asshole, because it is impossible to draw the line anyway and because at any mention of the name Priscilla I start scrolling pretty fast because it causes second hand mortification.
no subject
no subject
(Anonymous) 2011-02-11 02:58 am (UTC)(link)no subject
(Anonymous) 2011-02-11 03:44 am (UTC)(link)And I think perhaps this particular fandom should be extra mindful of the fourth wall (which everyone seems to be, as far as I can tell), since the subjects we're writing about are extremely tech/internet savvy.
Anyway, I'll stop talking now. I'm sorry if I've offended anyone -- not trying to cause wank. /o\
no subject
no subject
i think the difference for them is that, as stated above, the 'public figures' are being written about and rightfully so. however, there has been some mention of non-public figures in fic et all and although this is very much akin to an RPF fandom, i had to take into account that some people would be unhappy with the blurring of the lines.
this post was merely to ask the community as a whole to discuss and decide what was acceptable and what wasn't - i didn't want to colour this whole issue with my own personal opinions because that's not fair.
sorry again if this frustrates you. i'm only trying to keep this fair and wank-free D:
(no subject)
no subject
(Anonymous) 2011-02-11 06:24 pm (UTC)(link)no subject
However, my lines are not everyone else's lines, nor should they be. I would be happier, though, if people could make sure to mark prompts and fills as RL versions? Even if it involves Jesse or Andrew, so there's no confusion about whether it's a total RPF, or an RPF/TSN crossover? Of course, now I'm thinking that it sounds bizarre to have a fictional version as the default, but this is a TSN fandom meme first, I think?
Anyhow, these are only my two cents :)
no subject
(Anonymous) 2011-02-12 10:40 pm (UTC)(link)no subject
(Anonymous) 2011-02-13 10:51 am (UTC)(link)Where do we draw the line where we respect someone as a private person? Do we make a list of people that we can mention but not make them the focus? Do we make a list of people that we never write about at all? Can that even work?
(no subject)
(Anonymous) - 2011-02-14 16:35 (UTC) - Expand(no subject)
(Anonymous) - 2011-03-08 07:58 (UTC) - Expandno subject
(Anonymous) 2011-02-14 03:21 pm (UTC)(link)So, if we can write Jesse and Andrew and nobody cares, what is the matter with real Mark and real Eduardo? Maybe there are people afraid of real Mark? Well, he's like every other person, even if he's a computer genius. If he can sue us, all the others we write about could too. That's why we use disclaimers.
Just MHO.